Carlsbad High Athletic Hall of Fame welcomes Class of 2021

John Tigert, Terrance Orgain, Dr. Veronica Gonzales-Bruce and George Wilson Knapp were honored as the newest members of the Carlsbad High Athletic Hall of Fame.

The four were honored at a pep rally and luncheon Oct. 8 in Carlsbad. The inductees were also expected to be introduced during the Carlsbad Caveman football game Oct. 8.

“Thank you all for everything you’ve done for this community,” Carlsbad High School Cavemen Basketball Coach John Zumbrun said to the inductees.

John Zumbrun, head boys basketball coach at Carlsbad High School, speaks during a lunch ceremony at the Lucky Bull Restaurant Oct. 8, 2021 during inductions into the Carlsbad High School Athletic Hall of Fame

He served as the master of ceremonies during the luncheon at the Lucky Bull Restaurant.

“The Hall of Fame is not an end. I am hyped up,” Zumbrun said.

Carlsbad Municipal Schools Board of Education member and former coach Ron Singleton introduced Bruce and Orgain.

More:The importance of the Special Olympics

Bruce graduated from Carlsbad High School in 2001 and won a state title in javelin her senior year. She also lettered at the University of New Mexico in the javelin.

“I’ve been trying a longtime to get Veronica in here,” Singleton said. “I can’t say enough about her. I know I talked with you about this along time ago. She could throw the javelin.”

Bruce said she did not start throwing the javelin until her junior year in high school.

Carlsbad Municipal Schools Board of Education member Ron Singleton poses with 2021 Carlsbad High Athletic Hall of Fame inductee Veronica Bruce on Oct. 8, 2021.

“This is an honor to be inducted into the Hall of Fame,” she said.

Singleton said Orgain joined the Cavemen varsity track team while in eighth grade.

“He ran varsity for us. He has always been an inspiration to me,” Singleton said. “He is an outstanding athlete and wonderful person to be around.”

More:Candidate profile: Ron Singleton

Orgain earned all-district and all-state qualifier from 2002 to 2004 and graduated from Eastern New Mexico University in 2013.