Eddy County offers recommendations for redistricting maps

Eddy County offered input to a citizens committee appointed by the New Mexico Legislature to redraw political boundaries based on results from the 2020 U.S. Census.

The Citizen Redistricting Committee (CRC) sought input across New Mexico for a series of redrawn maps that must be presented to the Legislature by the end of October.

Oct. 5, Eddy County Board of County Commissioners offered thoughts on a series of maps released on the CRC website concerning New Mexico Senate and New Mexico House districts and U.S. House districts.

“Right now, we have multiple senators that look out for Eddy County and we have a great relationship with all of them. I think that having multiple voices is an important aspect, but that’s my opinion,” said Eddy County Manager Allen Davis.

A proposed New Mexico Senate Concept Map was one of  a handful of legislative redistricting maps presented before Eddy County Board of County Commissioners on Oct. 5, 2021

He presented some of the conceptual maps to commissioners.

Davis said Concept A gave Eddy County two senators. One for 90 percent of Eddy County and a second which would represent southern Chaves County and portions of Artesia and northern Eddy County.

He said Concept B was, “very similar to Concept A. But, extends into southern Lea County.”

“For one senate district excludes parts of Hobbs and expands a little bit into Roswell,” Davis said.

More:City of Carlsbad: Understanding the redistricting process

The third idea, or Concept C, places Artesia and Carlsbad in the same senate district.